PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
09 March 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for March 1-7, 2021

The beginning of the month was marked by higher consumer spending. On March 1–7 consumer spending grew by 4.2% after adding 2.3% a week before that.

The result is mainly due to the food industry (+7.1% y-o-y) and the service sector (–8.0% y-o-y vs –11.7% y-o-y a week earlier).

In the service industry, the y-o-y decline should be balanced by the favorable base effect in the coming weeks. To track the actual state of affairs in this sector, we have added a trend deviation indicator, which stands for what is believed to be the “normal” nominal level, i.e. what spending should have been if it were not for the pandemic meltdown. The deviation from this potential value is somewhat stronger (–11.8%), but over the past week it also added 3 pp. This means that there is indeed an improvement in the service sector of the economy.

The number of active businesses is also a sign of better consumption. The number of outlets is generally 6.3% higher than last year, and it was the services sector that delivered the largest increase over the week (+10.1% y-o-y).

Furthermore, we have divided the Hotels category into the categories Hotels in Russia and Hotels outside Russia, since the divergence of trends in these two areas is dramatic. The dynamics of spending on hotels inside Russia year-to-date have become positive (the metric was up 7.0% y-o-y on March 1–7), while spending abroad remains much lower compared to pre-pandemic (–88.5% y-o-y at the end of the week).

Share
  • Consumers
  • Expenses

Similar researches

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
08 марта 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов с 1 по 7 марта 2021 г.

Начало месяца ознаменовано ускорением роста потребительских расходов. С 1 по 7 марта потребительские траты увеличились на 4,2% г/г после 2,3% г/г неделей ранее.

Основной вклад внесли продовольственный сегмент (+7,1% г/г) и сектор услуг (–8,0% г/г против –11,7% г/г неделей ранее).

В услугах падение относительно сопоставимого периода прошлого года в ближайшие недели исчезнет из-за благоприятного эффекта базы. Чтобы отслеживать истинное состояние дел в данном секторе, аналитики СберИндекса добавили индикатор отклонения от тренда, то есть условно «нормального» номинального уровня, где должны были бы находиться траты, если бы не пандемийный провал. Отклонение от этого потенциального значения несколько сильнее (–11,8%), однако за прошедшую неделю и оно «подтянулось» на 3 п.п. Это означает, что в сервисной части экономики действительно происходит улучшение.

Количество активных бизнесов также указывает на более благоприятную ситуацию с потребителем. Число точек в целом на 6,3% выше, чем в прошлом году, а наибольший прирост за неделю обеспечил именно сектор услуг (+10,1% г/г).

Кроме того, аналитики СберИндекса разделили категорию «Отели» на категории «Отели в России» и «Отели за рубежом», поскольку расхождение трендов по двум этим направлениям существенное.  Динамика трат на гостиницы внутри страны с начала года стала положительной (в период 1–7 марта прирост составил +7,0% г/г), в то время как расходы за границей остаются значительно ниже допандемических уровней (–88,5% г/г по итогам недели).

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Расходы
  • Отели

Похожие исследования

Похожих исследований не найдено