PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
22 December 2020

Real-time retail consumption tracker for December 14-20, 2020

Between December 14 and 20, according to SberIndex analysts, consumer spending kept rebounding and added 1.1% y-o-y after losing 2.8% y-o-y a week earlier.

A noticeable consumption revival since the beginning of December looked suspicious, and the last week’s transition to metrics that were higher for no apparent reason required additional research.

SberIndex analysts found out that the dynamics were due to the fact that spending outside the country had come back to Russia. Tourist flow had been growing since early December 2019; however, it’s not the case this year. Given how much people spend abroad, instead of +1.1% y-o-y there was a 6.0% y-o-y decline in aggregate spending.

In other words, domestic demand was backed by locked spending outside Russia.

Ahead of the New Year, the service sector also started rebounding (–17.6% y-o-y).

The December activity of consumers in the Airline Tickets segment is maintained. On December 14–20, spending in this category lost only 10.4% y-o-y. However, the new London strain is likely to trigger a decline in the travel demand again after the New Year holidays.

The number of active outlets keeps climbing steadily now being 5.0% above February, with growth spotted across all the key areas (food retail, other products and services).

Share
  • Consumers
  • Expenses

Similar researches

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
22 декабря 2020

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов с 14 по 20 декабря 2020 г.

В период с 14 по 20 декабря, сообщают аналитики СберИндекса,  восстановление потребительских расходов продолжилось. Динамика стала положительной и составила +1,1% г/г после падения на 2,8% г/г неделей ранее.

Заметное оживление потребителя с начала декабря выглядело подозрительно, а переход к положительному результату без видимых на то причин на прошедшей неделе потребовал дополнительного исследования.

Аналитики СберИндекса выяснили, что такая динамика объясняется переносом зарубежных расходов на территорию России. С начала декабря 2019 г. возрастал турпоток, чего в текущем году не наблюдается. Если учесть траты, осуществляемые за границей, то вместо прироста в 1,1% г/г получаем падение совокупных расходов на 6,0% г/г.

Иными словами, внутренний спрос получил поддержку от невозможности тратить за пределами России. 

В предновогодний период отмечается восстановление и в секторе услуг (–17,6% г/г).

Сохраняется декабрьская активность потребителей в сегменте «Авиабилеты». На неделе 14–20 декабря падение расходов здесь составило лишь 10,4% г/г. Однако ситуация с «лондонским штаммом» наверняка приведёт к тому, что сразу после праздников спрос на поездки снова упадёт. 

Количество активных торговых точек устойчиво увеличивается и сейчас на 5,0% выше показателей февраля. Рост наблюдается по всем ключевым направлениям (продуктовая розница, прочие товары и услуги).

  • COVID-19
  • Расходы

Похожие исследования