PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
23 March 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for March 15-21, 2021

Between March 15 and 21, consumer activity reached 72.2 points, which is a new high year-to-date. SberIndex analysts claim that due to the spikes in the size and structure of demand seen in the second half of March 2020, in the next few weeks the year-on-year comparison of results will be reflecting the “base effect”, rather than the current spending dynamics. In this tracker and moving forward, SberIndex will be taking this into account. 

From March 15 to March 21, the dynamics of expenses remained somewhat below the trend curve, with consumer spending up 2.9% y-o-y on the back of the food segment’s negative input. The base effect has not had a dramatic effect on the overall dynamics of final demand yet. Fluctuations are observed across specific categories, since until early April analysts will only have to deal with changes in the 2020 spending structure. 

Food spending is down 6.0% y-o-y exactly against the backdrop of the base effect. In the second half of March 2020, the population rushed to buy essential goods en masse, which led to a sharp surge in spending in this particular segment (+14% w-o-w from normal levels). This explains the current drop compared to the same stretch in 2020. The trend dynamics of food spending are +7.5% y-o-y. 

Non-food retail keeps growing adding 8.3% y-o-y, mainly driven by the Clothing, Footwear & Accessories category. 

That said, the service sector is on the rise (+4.0%) amid the very same “base effect”. The sharp change in the tourist segment is especially noteworthy, with spending on airline tickets now technically growing by 20.9% y-o-y, although no longer than last week it was decreasing by 68.9% y-o-y. This dramatic change stems from how rapidly restrictions were imposed on the industry. However, in general, the observed volume of the service market remains 13.0% below the trend. 

Share
  • Consumers
  • Expenses

Similar researches

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
22 марта 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов с 15 по 21 марта 2021 г.

С 15 по 21 марта индекс потребительской активности находился на максимальных значениях 2021 года (72,2 пункта). При этом, как отмечают аналитики СберИндекса, из-за резких скачков величины и структуры спроса во второй половине марта 2020 года сравнение результатов год к году в ближайшие недели будет в большей степени отражать «эффект базы», чем текущую динамику расходов. СберИндекс здесь и в дальнейшем будет учитывать этот эффект в своих оценках. 

С 15 по 21 марта динамика расходов осталась несколько ниже трендового уровня. Потребительские траты росли с темпом +2,9% г/г на фоне негативного вклада продовольственного сегмента. Драматического влияния на общую динамику конечного спроса «эффект базы» пока не оказал. Колебания наблюдаются по отдельным категориям, так как до начала апреля аналитики будут иметь дело лишь с изменением структуры трат в 2020 году. 

Расходы на продукты питания снижаются на 6,0% г/г — как раз на фоне «эффекта базы». Во второй половине марта 2020 года население устремилось массово приобретать товары первой необходимости, что привело к резкому всплеску трат именно в рассматриваемом сегменте (за неделю они выросли на 14% относительно нормальных уровней). Именно этим объясняется текущее падение к 2020 г. Трендовая динамика расходов на продовольствие находится на уровне +7,5% г/г. 

Непродовольственная розница продолжает расти с темпом в +8,3% г/г. Основной прирост обеспечен категорией «Одежда, обувь и аксессуары».  

Сектор услуг, наоборот, перешёл к росту (+4,0%) — как раз на фоне того же «эффекта базы». Особенно примечательно резкое изменение ситуации в туристическом сегменте. Так, траты на авиабилеты теперь формально растут на 20,9% г/г, хотя ещё на прошлой неделе снижались на 68,9% г/г. Столь резкое изменение связано с тем, как стремительно вводились ограничения в отрасли. Однако в целом наблюдаемый объём рынка услуг остаётся на 13,0% ниже трендовых уровней. 

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Расходы
  • Услуги
  • Непродовольственная розница