PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
25 October 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for October, 18-24, 2021

The dynamics and structure of people’s last week spending in Russia have barely reacted to the announcement of an upcoming COVID-19 lockdown. SberIndex analysts claim that some segments have seen an increase in spending, albeit a minor one.

October 18–24, 2021, household spending on goods and services added 13.2% y-o-y in Russia.

Two categories – Beauty Parlors and Cafés, Bars & Restaurants – have seen an increase of 10.5% and 5%, respectively, since October 11–17. Similar changes can be observed in Moscow and Moscow Region, which stand out. The fluctuations are significant but cannot be identified as feverish demand.

Some Russians have evidently decided to use the lockdown as one more week off, which triggered higher transportation expenditures, both locally and internationally. Moreover, there is higher demand for hotels, which have seen a 6% rise since last week in Russia and a 24% increase outside the country. This last figure still has the low base effect to it.

The said fluctuations generally attest to changes in consumer behavior across certain groups only, with the general demand figure (+13.2% y-o-y vs. +13.7% a week before) showing no major shifts.

Furthermore, w-o-w spending in Food Items, a category that saw an avalanche of purchases ahead of the first lockdown, decreased.

Growth figures for home appliances and electronics have stayed one-digit for two weeks straight compared to the year 2020 (+7.9% y-o-y).

The consumer activity index has somewhat dropped since last week, which is well in line with the overall demand dynamics.

A reference to SberIndex (www.sberindex.ru) is mandatory when publishing the materials.

Share
  • Consumers
  • Travel
  • Consumer spending

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
25 октября 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов с 18 по 24 октября 2021

Динамика и структура расходов россиян на прошедшей неделе практически никак не отреагировали на объявление о введении коронавирусных ограничений. Как отмечают аналитики СберИндекса, по отдельным направлениям заметны дополнительные траты, но они невелики.

Прирост расходов на товары и услуги в России за период 18–24 октября 2021 г. составил +13,2% г/г.

По сравнению с предшествующей неделей (11–17 октября) на 10,5% выросли расходы в салонах красоты, на 5% — в сегменте «Кафе, бары, рестораны». Примерно такие же изменения мы наблюдаем отдельно в Москве и Московской области. Это значимые колебания, но они не подходит под определение ажиотажного спроса.

Часть россиян, очевидно, решила использовать локдаун как дополнительный отпуск. В связи с этим произошла некоторая активизация расходов на транспорт — как локальный, так и международный. Кроме того, виден дополнительный спрос на отели. Расходы на гостиницы внутри России по итогам недели увеличились на 6% по сравнению с предшествующей неделей, на зарубежные объекты — на 24%, но в последней цифре всё ещё проявляется эффект низкой базы.

В целом перечисленные колебания свидетельствуют об изменении поведения лишь отдельных групп потребителей. Общая цифру по спросу (+13,2% г/г после +13,7% г/г неделей ранее) говорит об отсутствии масштабных сдвигов.

Более того, в категории «Продовольствие», где наблюдался шквал покупок накануне первого локдауна, расходы даже снизились относительно предшествующей недели.

Темпы роста трат на бытовую технику и электронику вторую неделю подряд остаются однозначными относительно 2020 года (+7,9% г/г).

Индекс потребительской активности несколько снизился относительно предшествующей недели, что хорошо согласуется с общей динамикой спроса.

При публикации материалов ссылка на СберИндекс (www.sberindex.ru) обязательна.

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Путешествия
  • Потребительские расходы