PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
05 October 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for September 27 - October 03, 2021

Household spending reached RUB 4,507.3 bn in September 2021, a 15.4% increase y-o-y. The growth rate remained close to what was seen in August (+15.5%, according to Rosstat). However, SberIndex analysts say the nominal figures were heavily backed by the higher inflation, with GDP on the wane in real terms for the second month running. In September, it lost 0.4% m-o-m after a 0.2% m-o-m decrease in August and could lose even more in October. SberIndex does not expect any major consumption problems because Russian’s nominal earned income is seeing double-digit growth.

Household spending on goods and services reached RUB 4,507.3 bn in September 2021, or 15.4% up y-o-y.

The growth rate remained close to what was seen in August (+15.5% y-o-y, according to Rosstat), but the nominal figures were heavily backed by the higher inflation.

According to Rosstat’s September data that SberIndex analyzed, the figures suggest a further slowdown in economic activity in September. According to early estimates by the Center for Macroeconomic Research of Sberbank, GDP lost 0.4% m-o-m in real terms [i].

After analyzing SberIndex indicators, Sberbank CMR’s short-term forecasting model estimated 3Q21 GDP growth at 5.1% y-o-y (down from 5.3% y-o-y).

This might be a sign that the Russian economy is generally following a global trend and is tending to cool down in recent months. Large-scale government payments to the population have largely balanced the negative trends in the last two months, but the slowdown may become more articulated in October.

At the same time, SberIndex is not expecting major consumption issues, as Russia’s nominal earned income is seeing double-digit growth. Gross payrolls reached RUB 2.37 tn in August (+15.8% y-o-y).

Non-food retail, which accounted for the bulk of the additional spending following government payments in August and September, is fueling demand for the second month in a row. While food retail grew by 12.3% y-o-y in September, non-food retail added 17.8%. Home Appliances and Electronics jumped by 14.7% y-o-y in September; consumers spent 22.7% more y-o-y on clothes and shoes, and 55.9% more on computers and software. Consumers also spent much on building and home improvement goods (+15.3% y-o-y) and furniture (+15.2% y-o-y).

A reference to SberIndex (www.sberindex.ru) is mandatory when publishing the materials.

Share
  • Consumers
  • Non-food retail
  • Consumer spending

Similar researches

No similar researches found

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
05 октября 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов с 27 сентября по 3 октября 2021 г.

В сентябре 2021 г. расходы домохозяйств на товары и услуги составили 4507,3 млрд руб., что соответствует приросту в +15,4% г/г. Темпы роста остались вблизи августовских уровней (+15,5% г/г по данным Росстата). Однако, как отмечают аналитики СберИндекса, номинальные показатели в значительной степени поддержаны ростом инфляции. В реальном выражении ВВП снижается второй месяц подряд. В сентябре изменение составило -0.4% м/м после -0.2% м/м в августе. В октябре замедление может стать более выраженным. При этом СберИндекс не ожидает значимых проблем с потреблением, так как номинальные трудовые доходы россиян продолжают расти двузначными темпами.

В сентябре 2021 г. расходы домохозяйств на товары и услуги составили 4507,3 млрд руб., что соответствует приросту в +15,4% г/г.

Темпы роста остались вблизи августовских уровней (+15,5% г/г по данным Росстата). Однако номинальные показатели в значительной степени поддержаны динамикой инфляции.

Согласно проведенной СберИндексом оперативной оценке данных Росстата за сентябрь, такие показатели подразумевают дальнейшее замедление экономической активности в сентябре. По предварительной оценке Центра Макроэкономических Исследований Сбербанка, изменение ВВП составило -0,4% м/м в реальном выражении [1]. 

Модель краткосрочного прогнозирования ЦМИ Сбербанка с учетом индикаторов СберИндекса теперь оценивает рост ВВП в 3 кв. 2021 г. на уровне 5,1% г/г (понижение с 5,3% г/г).

Это может быть индикатором того, что экономика России в целом следует глобальному тренду и в последние месяцы тяготеет к охлаждению. Масштабные государственные выплаты населению в значительной степени компенсировали негативные тенденции в последние два месяца, но уже в октябре замедление может стать более выраженным.

При этом СберИндекс не ожидает значимых проблем с потреблением, так как номинальные трудовые доходы россиян продолжают расти двузначными темпами. ФОТ, выплаченный за август, составил 2,37 трлн руб. (+15,8% г/г).

Спрос второй месяц подряд получает поддержку со стороны непродовольственной розницы, сегмента, на который пришлась основная часть дополнительных трат по итогам государственных выплат августа – сентября. Если продовольственная розница выросла в сентябре на 12,3% г/г, то непродовольственная — на 17,8%. В частности, в сегменте «Бытовая техника и электроника» рост в сентябре составил 14,7% г/г, на одежду и обувь было потрачено на 22,7% больше, чем год назад, а на компьютеры и программное обеспечение — на 55,9%. Потребители также активно расходовали средства на строительство и ремонт (+15,3% г/г) и покупку мебели (+15,2% г/г).

При публикации материалов ссылка на СберИндекс (www.sberindex.ru) обязательна.

 

[1] Показатель может быть скорректирован по мере поступления новых данных.

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Непродовольственная розница
  • Потребительские расходы