PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
15 June 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for June 7-13, 2021

Between June 7 and 13, 2021, consumer activity was moderate, with normalized household spending up 5.0%, or 2.2 points below the highs seen recently. The spending structure shifted toward food items significantly, which during the week in question added 16.3% compared to pre-pandemic. SberIndex analysts claim it has to do with several days off and better weather.

Nominal change (% y-o-y) without adjustments. Consumer spending increased from June 7 to June 13, 2021, at a rate of 10.1% y-o-y, which is only due to the favorable base effect as compared to the beginning of the month.

Changes compared to weekly average figures for Feb 1–Mar 15, 2020. June 7 through June 13, 2021, spending activity was moderate. Normalized household spending added 5.0%, down 2.2 since the recent highs. The spending structure shifted toward food items, which is unusual.

The performance was very strong in the segment of food services, where the increase reached 16.3% of the pre-pandemic figures during the week.

SberIndex analysts believe that consumer behavior was mainly affected by the numerous days off and better weather.

Last week’s figures do not carry any obvious signs that the deteriorating coronavirus situation is affecting spending dynamics.

However, the spending activity index is down to 64.5 points, according to early estimates. This constitutes a decrease since the same stretch in 2020 (67.5 p) and the days off in early May (70.6 p). The metric depends on the variety of spending structure, and the demand was shifted toward food items during the week in question, which is unusual.

SberIndex analysts reiterate the volatility of estimates remains high due to the base effect (the lockdown of April and May 2020 and its relief in June). For a clearer representation of the evolution of current demand, SberIndex suggests that a temporary comparison with the fixed period of February and the first half of March 2020 is introduced (Feb 1 – Mar 15, 2020) taking seasonal adjustments into account.

When publishing the materials, a reference to SberIndex (www.sberindex.ru) is mandatory.

Share
  • Consumers
  • Service
  • Consumer spending

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
15 июня 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов с 7 по 13 июня 2021 г.

Неделя с 7 по 13 июня 2021 г. характеризуется сдержанной потребительской активностью. Нормализованный прирост расходов домохозяйств составил 5,0%, что на 2,2 пп ниже недавних максимумов. Вместе с тем структура трат заметно сместилась в сторону продовольственного сегмента, где прирост подскочил по итогам семи дней до 16,3% относительно допандемического периода. Аналитики СберИндекса связывают это с «длинными» выходными и улучшением погоды.

Номинальное изменение (% г/г) без корректировок. С 7 по 13 июня 2021 г. потребительские траты росли с темпом +10,1% г/г. Ускорение по сравнению с началом месяца связано исключительно с благоприятным эффектом базы.

Изменение относительно средненедельных объёмов в период 01.02–15.03.2020. Неделя с 7 по 13 июня 2021 г. характеризуется сдержанной потребительской активностью. Нормализованный прирост расходов домохозяйств составил 5,0%, что на 2,2 пп ниже недавних максимумов. Структура трат была нехарактерно смещена в сторону продовольственного сегмента.

Очень сильный результат зафиксирован в общепите, где прирост подскочил по итогам семи дней до 16,3% относительно допандемического периода.

Аналитики СберИндекса предполагают, что потребительское поведение было продиктовано в основном фактором «длинных» выходных, а также улучшением погоды.

В динамике спроса на прошедшей неделе нет очевидных признаков влияния ухудшения ситуации с коронавирусом.

При этом индекс потребительской активности снизился, по предварительным оценкам, до 64,5 пунктов, что ниже значений той же недели 2020 года (67,5 п) и нерабочих дней в начале мая (70,6 п.). Показатель ИПА зависит от разнообразия трат, а на исследуемой неделе спрос был нехарактерно смещен в сторону продовольствия.

Аналитики СберИндекса напоминают о сохранении высокой волатильности оценок, связанной с эффектом базы (апрель–май 2020 года, когда действовал режим самоизоляции, и выход из него в июне). Для более наглядного отображения текущей динамики спроса СберИндекс предлагает сравнение с фиксированным периодом февраля и первой половины марта 2020 г. (01.02.2020 – 15.03.2020), скорректированное на сезонность.

При публикации материалов ссылка на СберИндекс (www.sberindex.ru) обязательна.

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Услуги
  • Потребительские расходы

Похожие исследования