PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
16 March 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for March 8-14, 2021

Between March 8 and 14 consumer activity was weaker as compared to the beginning of the month due to a shorter work week. Experts also have spotted traces of International Women's Day celebration in Russians’ last week spending, although consumer spending grew at a rate of 2.3% y-o-y after adding 4.2% y-o-y a week earlier.

All the key metrics that analysts keep track of have decelerated slightly. Apart from spending, the consumer activity index dropped to 68.4 points from 71.1, while the number of active merchant locations slid by 0.5% since the first week of March.

This kind of change is mainly driven by the calendar factor. The thing is, although March 8 was formally last week (Monday), people celebrated it last Friday and last weekend (March 5‒7). On Monday, which was a day off, Russians apparently preferred to just stay home.

Still, some traces of the celebration can be seen on March 8–14, with liquor expenses up 11.9% y-o-y and flower expenses up 29.3% for a short time.

Details aside, nominal spending is nonetheless still above 2020 figures. Amid inflation and healthier labor market environment, the weaker performance of the last week appears to be more of a deviation from the normal and higher figures.

Spending is highly likely to get back to normal as soon as next week. Higher spending can be expected at least due to the untypically small increase in spending on groceries over the past seven days (+2.9% y-o-y).

Share
  • Consumers
  • Expenses

Similar researches

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
15 марта 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов с 8 по 14 марта 2021 г.

С 8 по 14 марта потребительская активность оказалась ниже начала месяца из-за короткой рабочей недели. Эксперты зафиксировали и «следы» празднования Международного женского дня в расходах россиян на прошлой неделе, хотя потребительские траты росли с темпом +2,3% г/г после +4,2% г/г неделей ранее.

Небольшое замедление произошло по всем основным индикаторам, которые отслеживают аналитики. Помимо собственно расходов, с 71,1 до 68,4 п. сократился и индекс потребительской активности, и количество активных торговых точек (на 0,5% по сравнению с первой неделей месяца).

Такая динамика связана главным образом с календарным фактором. Дело в том, что формально 8 марта выпало на прошлую неделю (понедельник), но основная часть празднования состоялась в пятницу и выходные предшествующей недели — 5‒7 марта. В выходной понедельник же россияне, по всей видимости, предпочли просто остаться дома.

При этом некоторые «следы» празднования с 8 по 14 марта остаются. Отмечается единичный всплеск трат на алкоголь (+11,9% г/г) и цветы (+29,3% г/г).

Объём номинальных расходов тем не менее при всех оговорках остаётся выше значений 2020 года. На фоне улучшений на рынке труда, а также инфляционного фактора замедление последней недели представляется скорее отклонением от нормальных, более высоких значений.

Уже на следующей неделе траты с высокой вероятностью нормализуются. Ожидать ускорения можно хотя бы по причине нехарактерно низкого прироста трат на продукты по итогам прошедших семи дней (+2,9% г/г).

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Расходы

Похожие исследования