PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
10 August 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for August 02-08, 2021

The annual growth rate of consumer spending jumped to +20.1% y-o-y between August 2–8, 2021. SberIndex analysts note that this spike in spending is related to the RUB 10,000 presidential payments for schoolchildren that began on August 2 and accounted for over half of the total increase.

Additional expenses amounted to RUB 29.4 bn, or approximately 0.6–0.7% of all expected spending by the population in August.

Demand increased across almost the entire spectrum of goods and services, with several non-food retail segments standing out. There was noticeable growth in spending in the following categories: Clothing, Footwear, Accessories (+31% w-o-w) and Department Stores (+15% w-o-w).

A marked increase of the consumer activity index was expected (78.4 p in Russia as a whole, compared to 75.8 p a week earlier).

The current growth rate is obviously unsustainable. The benefits received at the peak of the pandemic in July 2020 were visible in the data for a fortnight. It is reasonable to assume that the effect will last around until the middle of the month this time, too.

According to SberIndex, the nominal growth rate is currently 12.4–12.5% y-o-y.

SberIndex analysts note that consumer activity has generally normalized compared to the 2020 base. The commotion associated with changes in consumption patterns during lockdown has virtually disappeared. SberIndex will therefore be refocusing on performance in relation to last year's levels (% y-o-y), as well as seasonally adjusted monthly data (% m-o-m, SA, real terms).

A reference to SberIndex (www.sberindex.ru) is mandatory when publishing the materials.

Share
  • Consumers
  • Service
  • Consumer spending

Similar researches

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
10 августа 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов со 2 по 8 августа 2021 г.

В период со 2 по 8 августа 2021 г. годовые темпы роста потребительских расходов подскочили до +20,1% г/г. Как отмечают аналитики СберИндекса, столь резкий всплеск расходов связан с начавшимися со 2 августа президентскими выплатами на школьников в размере 10 тыс. руб., что обеспечило более половины всего прироста.

Дополнительные расходы составили 29,4 млрд руб., или порядка 0,6–0,7% всех ожидаемых трат населения в августе.

Спрос увеличился практически по всему спектру товаров и услуг, но особенно выделяется несколько сегментов непродовольственной розницы. Отмечается заметный рост расходов в категориях «Одежда, обувь и аксессуары» (+31% относительно прошлой недели), «Универсальные магазины» (+15% к прошлой неделе).

Ожидаемо зафиксирован также заметный подъём индекса потребительской активности (78,4 п. по России в целом против 75,8 п. неделей ранее).

Текущие темпы роста, очевидно, не являются устойчивыми. Получение выплат в разгар пандемии в июле 2020 г. было заметно в данных на протяжении двух недель. Разумно предположить, что и в этот раз эффект сохранится примерно до середины месяца.

Номинальные темпы роста, по оценкам СберИндекса, сейчас составляют 12,4–12,5% г/г.

Аналитики СберИндекса отмечают, что оценки потребительской активности относительно базы 2020 года в целом нормализовались, а шум, связанный с изменением структуры потребления в период локдауна, практически исчез. В связи с этим СберИндекс снова фокусируется на показателях относительно прошлогодних уровней (% г/г), а также скорректированных на сезонность месячных данных (% м/м, SA, в реальном выражении).

При публикации материалов ссылка на СберИндекс (www.sberindex.ru) обязательна.

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Дети
  • Потребительские расходы