PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
17 August 2021

Real-time retail consumption tracker for August 09-15, 2021

The annual consumer spending growth rate remained higher than trend levels between August 9-15, 2021, with an increase of +16.9% y-o-y. SberIndex analysts note that the RUB 10,000 presidential benefits for schoolchildren are still a key factor supporting spending. This resource led to RUB 50.4 bn in additional expenses from August 9 to 15, 2021. Overall, at the end of the fortnight, payouts led to an increase in household spending of almost RUB 80 bn, which is equivalent to 1.8% of expected spending by the population in August. This represents a timely and necessary boost, given the de facto stagnation in demand in June and July.

The slowdown compared to the previous week (+20.1% y-o-y) is based solely on the base effect. Directly observed demand has changed little in recent days.

Non-food retail (+21.0% y-o-y) accounts for the bulk of expenses and is most likely to do with preparations for school. Additional demand remains high in the Clothing, Footwear, Accessories (+22.5% y-o-y) and Stationery (+42.0% y-o-y) categories.

In contrast to last week, the service sector of the economy also received a share of the spending (+20.3% y-o-y). Even the Entertainment category saw spending 5.3% above pre-pandemic levels.

The consumer activity index also remains at high levels (79.0 p across Russia as a whole, compared to 78.4 p a week earlier).

SberIndex analysts note that consumer activity has generally normalized compared to the 2020 base. The commotion associated with changes in consumption patterns during lockdown has virtually disappeared. SberIndex will therefore be refocusing on performance in relation to last year's levels (% y-o-y), as well as seasonally adjusted monthly data (% m-o-m, SA, real terms).

A reference to SberIndex (www.sberindex.ru) is mandatory when publishing the materials.

Share
  • Consumers
  • Service
  • Consumer spending

Similar researches

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
17 августа 2021

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских расходов со 9 по 15 августа 2021 г.

В период со 9 по 15 августа 2021 г. годовые темпы роста потребительских расходов оставались на уровнях выше трендовых; прирост составил +16,9% г/г. Как отмечают аналитики СберИндекса, ключевым фактором, поддерживающим траты, остается президентская выплата на школьников в размере 10 тыс. руб. С 9 по 15 августа 2021 г. этот источник обеспечил 50,4 млрд руб. дополнительных расходов. В целом же по итогам двух недель выплата привела к росту трат домохозяйств на почти 80 млрд руб., что эквивалентно 1,8% от ожидаемого объема трат населения в августе. Это своевременный и нужный импульс с учетом де-факто стагнации спроса на протяжении июня-июля.

Замедление относительно предшествующей недели (+20,1% г/г) обусловлено только эффектом базы. Непосредственно наблюдаемый спрос за последние дни изменился мало.

Основная часть расходов приходится на непродовольственную розницу (+21,0% г/г), и, вероятно, используется для подготовки к школе. Остается высоким дополнительный спрос в категориях «Одежда, обувь и аксессуары» (+22,5% г/г), «Канцтовары» (+42,0% г/г).

В отличие от прошлой недели, часть расходов досталась и сервисной части экономики (+20,3% г/г). Даже траты в категории «Развлечения» оказались на 5,3% выше допандемических объемов.

Индекс потребительской активности также остается на высоких отметках (79,0 п. по России в целом против 78,4 п. неделей ранее).

Аналитики СберИндекса отмечают, что оценки потребительской активности относительно базы 2020 года в целом нормализовались, а шум, связанный с изменением структуры потребления в период локдауна, практически исчез. В связи с этим СберИндекс снова фокусируется на показателях относительно прошлогодних уровней (% г/г), а также скорректированных на сезонность месячных данных (% м/м, SA, в реальном выражении).

При публикации материалов ссылка на СберИндекс (www.sberindex.ru) обязательна.

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Дети
  • Услуги
  • Потребительские расходы

Похожие исследования

Похожих исследований не найдено