PJSC Sberbank uses cookies (files with data about previous visits to the site) for personalization of services and convenience of users. Sberbank is serious about protecting personal data – read the terms and principles of data processing. You can prevent cookies from being stored in your browser settings.
All researches
01 December 2020

Real-time retail consumption tracker for November 23- 29, 2020

According to SberIndex analysts, the dynamics of consumer spending did not show any improvement from November 23 to November 29, losing 11.4% y-o-y after falling by 9.0% y-o-y a week earlier. At the same time, the number of active outlets turned out to be the highest this year (+4.0% versus February) amid corporate attempts to participate in sales.

The decline, which accelerated by 2.4 pp compared to last week, has to do with Black Friday, SberIndex analysts believe. The sales were weak, as was expected, and their contribution to the spending decline amounted to some 2 pp.

Weaker spending is concentrated in the non-food retail sector (–9.0% y-o-y after –4.8% a week before), which is also mainly due to weak Black Friday. Driven by sales, the surge in demand was seen in all traditional categories, but the incremental spending was 40% lower than in 2019.

Compared to a regular Friday in November, buying added 20% this year against 48% a year earlier in the Home Appliances and Electronics category. In the Clothing, Footwear, and Accessories segment it added 18% against 25% in 2019.

The consumer activity index SberIndex.ru keeps track of is below 70 points (69.1), with consumers still hibernating.

In general, according to early estimates, consumer spending lost 9.9% y-o-y in November, which makes it a month with the third biggest decline in 2020, following April (–26.2%) and May (–16.8%).

Share
  • Consumers
  • Expenses

Similar researches

ПАО Сбербанк использует cookie (файлы с данными о прошлых посещениях сайта) для персонализации сервисов и удобства пользователей. Сбербанк серьезно относится к защите персональных данных — ознакомьтесь с условиями и принципами их обработки. Вы можете запретить сохранение cookie в настройках своего браузера.
Все исследования
01 декабря 2020

Оперативная оценка динамики потребительских трат россиян 23-29 ноября 2020 г.

По данным аналитиков СберИндекса, динамика потребительских расходов с 23 по 29 ноября не продемонстрировала улучшения. Изменение составило –11,4% г/г после снижения на 9,0% г/г неделей ранее. В то же время количество активных торговых точек оказалось максимальным в текущем году (+4,0% к уровням февраля) на фоне попыток бизнеса участвовать в распродажах.

Ускорение падения на 2,4 п.п. относительно предыдущей недели связано с фактором «чёрной пятницы», уверены аналитики СберИндекса. Распродажи прошли ожидаемо слабо; их вклад в снижение расходов оставил порядка 2 п.п.

Ухудшение сфокусировано в непродовольственной рознице (–9,0% г/г после
–4,8% г/г неделей ранее). Это также преимущественно связано со слабой «чёрной пятницей». Всплеск спроса, спровоцированный распродажами, наблюдался во всех традиционных категориях, но объём дополнительных расходов был на 40% ниже, чем в 2019 г.

Рост покупок относительно обычной пятницы ноября в категории «Бытовая техника и электроника» составил в этом году 20% против 48% годом ранее, в сегменте «Одежда, обувь и аксессуары» — 18% против 25% в 2019 г.

Индекс потребительской активности, рассчитываемый на SberIndex.ru, находится ниже 70 пунктов (69,1 п.); потребитель продолжает пребывать «в спячке». 

В целом предварительная оценка изменения потребительских расходов на товары и услуги в ноябре составляет –9,9% г/г. Таким образом, этот месяц окажется третьим по глубине снижения в 2020 г. Хуже были только апрель
(–26,2% г/г) и май (–16,8% г/г).

Поделиться
  • Потребители
  • Расходы
  • Распродажи